Redman “Blow Your Mind” 23 years later

Redman “Blow Your Mind” 23 years later: “Blow Your Mind” is the first single released in Redman’s rap career 23 years ago Thursday 8/27/2015. Written and produced by Reggie himself the track was also co-produced by Erick Sermon. The song contains many samples including “The Payback (Intro)” by James Brown, “The Big Bang Theory” and “Theme From the Black Hole” by Parliament and “Dance Floor”, “I Can Make You Dance” and “Computer Love” by Zapp. It was also featured on two major Def Jam compilations: Def Jam’s Greatest Hits: Hardcore and Def Jam Music Group inc.:10th Year Anniversary. Most notably the song came off his debut album “Whut? Thee Album” released September of 1992. The album recorded in various New York studios from Ian London Studios in East Islip, North Shore Soundworks in Commack, and Power Play Studios downtown. The album is considered to be a true hip hop classic album and highly regarded as Reggie Noble’s best work along with his third album “Muddy Waters”. Made under the Def Jam label the album was produced by mentor and fellow Hit Squad member Erick Sermon and Redman himself with a little help from Pete Rock on the track “How to Roll a Blunt”.

Reggie grew up slanging drugs and Djing at clubs and parties. He began rapping at 16 and was heavily influenced by the comedic style of Biz Markie. In 1990 Redman met EPMD for the first time backstage at an MC Lyte show. Redman showed off his skills in a freestyle cipher and Erick Sermon was so impressed that he asked Reggie to perform during their set that night. EPMD then brought Reggie on tour to freestyle and DJ at their shows. They also gave him 2 guest spots on songs off their third album “Business as Usual (1990)” which gave him big props in the underground hip hop community. A Year later Redman had his own contract signed with Def Jam and began writing what would soon be “Whut? Thee Album”. Erick Sermon said that Q-Tip also played a key part in helping Reggie to get signed. The album reached # 49 on the U.S. Billboard 200, #5 on the R&B album chart, and was certified gold in June 1993. The singles were “Time 4 Sum Aksion”, “Tonight’s Da Night” f/ Hurricane G, and “Blow Your Mind”

Johnny V

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts