Raekwon “Fly International Luxurious Art (F.I.L.A.)” Album Review

Raekwon “Fly International Luxurious Art (F.I.L.A.)” Album Review: On April 28th Raekwon released his sixth studio album “Fly International Luxurious Art (F.I.L.A.)” under Ice H20 Records and Caroline Records. Rae describes the album as being an ode to his stylish side as he is able to create life-like experiences by just using his lyrics. A number of songs have leaked from the album, but it has been in the works since 2013. The album contains big name artists and surprisingly only has one member of the Wu-Tang Clan Ghostface Killah on a couple tracks. Other artists featured on tracks with Raekwon are ASAP Rocky, French Montana, Busta Rhymes, 2 Chainz, Snoop Dogg, Rick Ross, Estelle & more.

After an intro Ghostface Killah throws down on the track #2 w/ Rae called “4 in the Morning”. The song was produced by Scram Jones and gives us that gritty old Wu-Tang vibe. ASAP Rocky jumps on the next track titled “ I Got Money” which boasts a hook that says “I Got Money, na, na, na, na, na, na” and is a dope collaboration of old-school and new-school hip hop. Although I typically skip past any track that features French Montana I was glad I didn’t after listening to “Wall to Wall”. The track also features Busta Rhymes and was the 3rd single released from the album. “F.I.L.A. World” features 2 Chainz and with the rep that these 2 smokers have you almost expect a hook that says “Roll up strong- inhale it”. Scoop Deville produced the next jam “1,2,1,2” with Snoop Dogg which is one of the top tracks on the album. Scoop uses an old but familiar sample from Issac Hayes’s classic song “Ike’s Mood”. The sample is probably more commonly known to our generation off the Mary J Blige song “I Love You” w/ Smiff n Wesson.

“Soundboy Kill It” was the second single released and features Melanie Fiona and Assassin. Melanie is a Canadian R&B artist who has worked with Drake, and Assassin is a famous Jamaican dancehall deejay who most recently appeared on Kendrick Lamar’s “The Blacker The Berry”. With the help of Jerry Wonda and Swizz Beatz they all collaborated to create a killer single. Ghostface Killah comes back with Teflon Da Don/Rick Ross on “Recovery (Wraith)” which doesn’t disappoint. “All About You” features Estelle and was produced by Jerry Wonda. This was the first official single which was released on August 20th 2013.

The album finished off with some help from Liz Rodrigues of The New Royales on “Worst Enemy”. Raekwon has a few solo songs as well, #5 “Heated Nights”, #8 “Live to Die”, and #12 “Nautilus” which are just alright, but it’s features that really make this album exciting!

Download the new Raekwon album “F.I.L.A.” on Itunes by clicking HERE.

Written by Johhny V 5/12/15

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts